Probability of a non-big law outcome Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
runnergirl159

New

Probability of a non-big law outcome

Post by runnergirl159 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 2:26 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm in the process of deciding whether to apply for this cycle, and could really use some guidance. Posts
such as these http://www.top-law-schools.com/forums/v ... 4&t=261392 have scared me away from the prospect of big law.
I'm looking for a professional career, but I just can't see myself being happy working 80 hours a week doing mind-numbing paperwork.

I'm a recent grad, 174 LSAT and 4.1 GPA and I'm wondering whether law school is a good choice at this point. I think
I would really enjoy law, if I were in the right type of position. So essentially my question is, how likely is it to obtain such a job
out of law school, specifically out of HYS CCN (where I'd be applying, and I think I stand a fair chance at getting in)?
I'm specifically interested in:

- Working in s smaller law firm, where the work is interesting and the hours are reasonable (50-60). Some practice areas I think I'd enjoy would be general litigation, tax, a tech related specialty (I have an MSc. in a STEM field), and white collar defence.
- Working in-house, doing interesting work (perhaps at a tech firm)
- Academia

From what I've read on this site, it seems that most/a lot of T-14 graduates get funnelled into big-law. Is this outcome to be expected,
or if I gunned for one of the aforementioned jobs would I have a reasonable shot? Also, I clearly don't expect to make big-law money at any of
the jobs I listed, but am wondering if it's possible to make a reasonable living in any of these positions.

Thanks in advance, and apologies if my aspirations are a bit delusional.

cavalier1138

Re: Probability of a non-big law outcome

Post by cavalier1138 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 2:38 pm

A few observations: