I hate paralegal work, does that mean I will hate being an attorney? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
trkmaniak00

New

I hate paralegal work, does that mean I will hate being an attorney?

Post by trkmaniak00 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:15 pm

The topic pretty much says it all. I've been a paralegal for a few weeks now and I despise the boring, monotonous tasks I have to do for at least a few hours every day.

I have always been drawn to the law because I love research, but I want my work to be applicable in real life which is why I am not pursuing academia instead.

It would be one thing if it was just a job that I don't like, but now I'm worried if I have been pursuing the wrong career. I did this paralegal gig as a gap year when I didn't feel like I was ready to go to school this fall. Does anyone have any thoughts on how the work differs or any anecdotes about preferring one over the other?

UVA2B

Gold

Re: I hate paralegal work, does that mean I will hate being an attorney?

Post by UVA2B » Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:29 pm

*Caveat: never been a paralegal, so this is not anecdotal advice and should not be taken as such

To me, the answer is...maybe. Paralegals and attorneys do different work in a law firm, but the work isn't so substantively different that it'll feel entirely like a different career. So while you'll be doing much more legal research and drafting of documents as an attorney that might feel fundamentally different than some of the administrative matters, cite checking, etc. that you're probably doing as a paralegal now, there are parallels to the skill sets and generally speaking you'll be staffed on cases with paralegals who are helping you with the stuff you're doing now.