Patent Bar Exam Qualifications Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
CU312

New

Patent Bar Exam Qualifications

Post by CU312 » Wed Jun 21, 2017 3:57 am

I'm a rising sophomore at Cornell University intending on majoring in computer science and over the summer have started to get interested in patent law. However, after doing some research, it seems that to take the patent bar exam requires a computer science degree from an ABET accredited program. It seems that other top computer science programs such as MIT are also not ABET accredited, making it seem like a funny rule considering it seems like its suppose to make sure the computer science degrees being submitted are legit, yet it's keeping out students from some of the top programs in the US......
After doing some research, however, I have seen that there is an option to still be qualified to sit given if one has 40 semester hours in a combination consisting of the following: 8 semester hours of chemistry or 8 semester hours of physics, and 32 semester hours of chemistry, physics, biology, botany, microbiology, molecular biology, or engineering. (Says computer science courses may count depending on nature of the course)
I already have 8 semesters hours of chemistry, will an undergraduate degree from Cornell most likely meet this expectation?

If anyone has a similar experience or can offer and advice that would be awesome.

A. Nony Mouse

Diamond

Re: Patent Bar Exam Qualifications

Post by A. Nony Mouse » Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:49 am

It looks like Cornell is ABET accredited? http://main.abet.org/aps/Accreditedprogramsearch.aspx (MIT too.)

CU312

New

Post by CU312 » Wed Jun 21, 2017 11:56 am

Other engineering degrees at the school are but computer science is not.

A. Nony Mouse

Diamond

Post by A. Nony Mouse » Wed Jun 21, 2017 1:30 pm

Ah, okay. Sorry.

deuceindc

Bronze

Post by deuceindc » Wed Jun 21, 2017 1:46 pm