Has Anyone Heard of the NYU Master of Studies in Law in Taxation Program? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
lilydenris

New

Has Anyone Heard of the NYU Master of Studies in Law in Taxation Program?

Post by lilydenris » Fri May 19, 2017 5:59 pm

Hi Everyone,

Long time lurker here and first time to post. Just wondering if anyone has heard of the Masters of Studies in Law in Taxation program offered by NYU law school: http://www.law.nyu.edu/msltax/program-overview? This is a part-time online only program. I know most ppl on this forum are on their path of becoming lawyers, so this program is not really relevant (it's intended for people who are not lawyers). Posting it here because the courses are said to be the same as the ones offered in LLM, which is really tempting to me since I'm not a JD but very interested in learning more about tax law.

Some background about myself: I'm a CPA, currently a senior in one of the big 4 accounting firms. I do mostly tax provisions and compliance work, but want to move into more of a tax planning/consulting role, like M&A tax or International tax. If you happen to know someone who has attended this program or if you are an tax lawyer, could you please share some insights as to how much added value this program would offer? Thanks!

lilydenris

New

Re: Has Anyone Heard of the NYU Master of Studies in Law in Taxation Program?

Post by lilydenris » Sun May 21, 2017 4:32 pm

Bumpppp

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Sun May 21, 2017 5:37 pm

lilydenris wrote:Bumpppp
You can bump all you like, but the chances of anyone on this board knowing much about a non-law masters at a specific school are close to zero. Reach out to the school; I'm sure they can put you in touch with a student or some alumni.

lilydenris

New

Post by lilydenris » Mon May 22, 2017 12:04 am

cavalier1138 wrote:
lilydenris wrote:Bumpppp