Do I disclose that I am an evening student when interviewing for full-time position? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Anonymous User

Do I disclose that I am an evening student when interviewing for full-time position?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed May 10, 2017 5:51 pm

I apologize in advance that this is not a post law school career related question.

I will be a part-time, evening student this fall, as I am trying to work full-time. I have interviews at several law firms for full-time paralegal/legal assistant positions. These are small to mid-regional law. Anecdotally and according to glassdoor, these firms have flexible hours and have had part-time paralegals in the past. But I still worry that my part-time student status could play a negative role in hiring process.

Should I disclose that I will be a part-time law student during the interview? Or just try not to bring it up?

Anonymous User

Re: Do I disclose that I am an evening student when interviewing for full-time position?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed May 10, 2017 6:01 pm

I am of the belief you should. If they find out after you get the job, and the job could possibly conflict some way somehow with school, then that reflects poorly on you. Remember that the legal world is about "ethics" and disclosure and I'm not sure you being a law student and a paralegal/legal assistant without telling them is ethical. It shouldn't be a problem once you do disclose it

Mickfromgm

Bronze

Re: Do I disclose that I am an evening student when interviewing for full-time position?

Post by Mickfromgm » Sat May 13, 2017 8:14 am