Don't give a shit about my coworkers Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
BlendedUnicorn

Platinum

Don't give a shit about my coworkers

Post by BlendedUnicorn » Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:23 pm

Hi everyone. I'm neither a 0l nor a paralegal at a v20, but if I were I would have the following question:
Hi everyone,

I am a paralegal at a v20 firm. Our firm, like many others, hosts staff events to promote a friendly environment. The thing is, I am indifferent towards my coworkers, and would rather work than attend these events. The HR dept is always questioning my absence at these events. I'm starting law school this fall, and can't wait to hand in my two weeks notice. However, in the event that I would need a reference letter from my employer, am I shooting myself in the foot by not being more social? I do my job well, and get along with everyone, I just don't attend these mind numbing events.
On the other hand, if I'd been on the other side of OCI I would say that it's definitely worth the effort making an appearance at these things and socializing a little bit. Downside seems small and the potential networking/consuming free stuff upside is pretty large.

dabigchina

Gold

Re: Don't give a shit about my coworkers

Post by dabigchina » Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:40 pm

My personal theory has always been, if HR is arsed about it to mention it to you, it's a big enough deal for you to make the effort.

Bob loblaw law blog

Bronze

Post by Bob loblaw law blog » Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:49 pm

Flame. No one could actually be dumb enough to think that the "someone who totally isn't me has a question" shtick would protect them if someone found this. Also, this person joined tls all of 24 hours ago.

BlendedUnicorn

Platinum

Post by BlendedUnicorn » Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:54 pm