Investment Banking -> Biglaw? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
UnBankingO

New

Investment Banking -> Biglaw?

Post by UnBankingO » Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:07 am

I posted this in the employment board but was locked :/

For some background, I'm currently an analyst at a top investment bank (think GS/MS/JPM) finishing up my first year and trying to decide what to do next. I've done a lot of research into exit opportunities and the way I see it, my options after banking are hedge funds, private equity, corporate development or staying in banking, none of which seem particularly attractive to me.

First off, I'm not particularly passionate about markets or finance so I can't imagine being happy at a HF regardless of the money (the entire industry is melting down anyway). Private equity seems like it could be interesting but I don't think it's a viable long term career path for a variety of reasons, including way too much dry powder, inflated valuations, a surplus of managers, and more sophisticated management teams. I wouldn't be surprised if we see a massive contraction in the industry in 5 years as returns from the past few years shake out and managers try to raise new funds. Corporate development just seems boring and slow paced, with minimal room for advancement. With banking, I enjoy thinking about and actually executing deals, but even at a top group, you're spending 75% of your time on business development, putting together worthless pitches and relationship materials.