Big 4 (accounting) vs. Biglaw Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Aldo_Raine

New

Big 4 (accounting) vs. Biglaw

Post by Aldo_Raine » Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:09 pm

Last edited by Aldo_Raine on Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dabigchina

Gold

Re: Big 4 (accounting) vs. Biglaw

Post by dabigchina » Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:19 pm

Work in Big4 for a couple of years and see if you like it. If you don't, you can always take that work experience with you. Big4 experience is fairly useful during OCI.

People like to romanticize how good accountants have it on this forum. I personally didn't enjoy it but different strokes for different folks. To be fair, I didn't work in advisory so you experience might be different.

Npret

Gold

Post by Npret » Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:36 pm

Aldo_Raine wrote:I am a Sophomore Finance major (3.8 gpa) with an accounting internship this summer at a F100 company. I am interested in going to a top law school or working @ a big 4 firm after graduation. I am struggling with this decision and planning for my future has always been something that stresses me out. With that being said I will just let you guys know what I like/don't like about each path and maybe you guys could share some wisdom.

Law School -- If I went to a top law school I would hope to eventually be a corporate/transactional lawyer in biglaw. Going to law school and working in biglaw is attractive because of the pay ($160k starting) and the exit opportunities are good. What I don't like is that the hours suck even at the non-equity partner level and the work sounds like it could be very dull.