Patent agent + Corporate law Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
highcardjack

New

Patent agent + Corporate law

Post by highcardjack » Thu Mar 09, 2017 8:34 pm

Hi guys,

New here and just want to get advice on a few career ideas.

I have a bachelor degree in Chemistry and want to take the patent bar soon to be a patent agent. I have plans to attend law school while working as a patent agent. I just want to get your opinion on whether I should study patent law or corporate law. I think my chances for employment are better with a patent agent license and corporate law degree VS patent law alone. I'd love to hear your inputs on what would be a better decision. I'd also love to hear any new suggestions that you guys may have.

I thank you in advance.

lymenheimer

Gold

Re: Patent agent + Corporate law

Post by lymenheimer » Thu Mar 09, 2017 8:38 pm

You dont get a "corporate law degree" or "patent law degree". You just get a "law degree". Hth

highcardjack

New

Post by highcardjack » Thu Mar 09, 2017 8:41 pm

lymenheimer wrote:You dont get a "corporate law degree" or "patent law degree". You just get a "law degree". Hth
Yes but I am saying which is a better path - doing corporate law with a patent agent background or practice patent law as a career.

trmckenz

Bronze

Post by trmckenz » Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:29 pm

I am a patent agent in big law. A couple of things to point out here:

1) A USPTO registration number is valuable in patent law, and patent law only. Possessing a USPTO registration number simply enables one to deal with the USPTO on behalf of others. There are no other uses for a USPTO registration number other than dealing with the USPTO.