Paralegal before law school: Skadden NY vs. Proskauer NY? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
TakeTheOver

New

Paralegal before law school: Skadden NY vs. Proskauer NY?

Post by TakeTheOver » Mon Mar 06, 2017 3:01 pm

Hey TLS,

I'm an undergrad graduating in May from a T20 non-Ivy (think Wash U, Vanderbilt, Northwestern, Emory) and I have decided to take a two-year paralegal job before law school. I have two offers to choose from: Skadden NY and Proskauer NY. In both instances, I would be a corporate paralegal/legal assistant/whatever you want to call it. Personally, I found the people at Proskauer to be more relaxed and friendly than Skadden and I'm also very interested in their sports law practice, so choosing Proskauer would (hopefully) allow me to network at least a little within that practice. However, I know that Skadden is the more prestigious firm with better corporate practices in pretty much everything besides sports. My question is, does the prestige of a firm matter for a paralegal looking to get experience before law school? I felt like Skadden was too big for my taste and had more of an intense sweatshop vibe. Furthermore, I think I would get a more substantive experience at Proskauer. But if prestige matters at this point, I am not sure if I should bite the bullet and choose Skadden. Any advice here would be greatly appreciated; I only have a few days to decide which offer to take. Thanks everyone!

Anonymous User

Re: Paralegal before law school: Skadden NY vs. Proskauer NY?

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Mar 06, 2017 3:05 pm

Go wherever you'll have a better time for two years. Nothing else will matter

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Mar 06, 2017 3:24 pm