"Elite Litigation Boutique" burnout taking questions Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
nickelanddime

New

"Elite Litigation Boutique" burnout taking questions

Post by nickelanddime » Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:12 pm

I used this forum a good amount back in the day, so i thought I should share what little insight I've acquired. (Mods - I made a new account so that I could provide some identifiable info - I apologize for "alting".)

I graduated from HYS in 2012. After a district court clerkship, I went to go work for a firm that calls itself (and law students believe it is as well) an "elite litigation boutique."

Great experience, but insane hours - all of the associates were consistently billing in excess of 220 hours per month, and were traveling a ton. After deciding that I wanted out in January/February, I was able to snag a COA clerkship spot that begins in a few weeks, so I left in June. I will almost certainly not be going back. I would love to try going into gov after this year, but I'm not sure I have the stomach for a public sector job search that drags on through the spring and summer since I have a good amount of debt.

It was a very interesting year. I'm still not sure if I would have been better off in biglaw. A couple of surprises that hastened my early departure:

-Exit options for older attorneys really are no better than they would be from a good biglaw firm in the city. Outside the city/state, they were in fact probably worse because fewer people had heard of us. Several associates who had clerked for feeder judges were having tons of difficulty moving to other firms because they waited too long (they were 6th/7th years).