Whitter Law School grad w/ advice and will answer questions Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
f174635

New

Whitter Law School grad w/ advice and will answer questions

Post by f174635 » Sat Jul 06, 2013 3:10 am

I graduated from WLS in the mid 2000s. It was an interesting time to attend, to say the least. Tuition has nearly doubled since I went and looks like it's harder to get a job than it was before, and that's saying a lot.

Look, I'm not here to shout "Don't go to WLS or don't go to law school". Y'all are responsible adults and there is a lot of information out there about the risks involved. I want to share the following for future WLS students but I'm sure most of it will also apply to those planning to attend similarly ranked schools as well (like Thomas Jefferson):

1) I assume most of you are going to WLS with the purpose of transferring to a higher ranked school after 1L. Before you do, you may want to look at the post-graduate employment statistics of the schools you want to transfer to. If you're thinking about transferring to Loyola Law School, University of San Diego or Southwestern after 1L, your job prospects will not improve that much, if at all. And yes, one of a class of 150-200 will transfer to Georgetown, UCLA, USC or Boalt - feeling lucky?

2) Google "Whittier Law School Summa Cum Laude", "Whittier Law School Magna Cum Laude" and "Whittier Law School Cum Laude" and see where these people ended up. In short, I saw two that work for biglaw and others that work for mid-sized law firms. But a surprisingly large number work for small firms or have gone solo. I know most of the smaller firms where they work and they pay less than $100,000/yr to their garden variety associates even with several years of experience.