Strike-Out Squad 2017: - EIP strike-outs welcome here. Forum

(housing, friendships, future exams, all things 2017)
patfeeney

Bronze

Strike-Out Squad 2017: - EIP strike-outs welcome here.

Post by patfeeney » Tue Aug 18, 2015 5:31 pm

I've struck out and it's stressful. I figure a mass support group would be warranted.

Let's vent, discuss strategies for employment, alternative plans, good fortune, and overall team up as an online buddy-system for those of us whom the EIP Gods frowned upon.

I'm patfeeney.

2L at CCN.
Median grades.
Journal.
Struck out at 20 firms during EIP.

Currently mass-mailing, going through Career services for posting, and networking as much as I can... something I've never done before.

kaiser

Gold

Re: Strike-Out Squad 2017: - EIP strike-outs welcome here.

Post by kaiser » Tue Aug 18, 2015 5:34 pm

For those who struck out, couple your mass mailings with informal networking emails to alums (partners in particular) at your target firms. All it takes is one friendly conversation with a partner to give recruiting a nudge and have you in for an interview. Do it tactfully, but don't be shy about that kind of networking.

patfeeney

Bronze

Post by patfeeney » Tue Aug 18, 2015 5:38 pm

kaiser wrote:For those who struck out, couple your mass mailings with informal networking emails to alums (partners in particular) at your target firms. All it takes is one friendly conversation with a partner to give recruiting a nudge and have you in for an interview. Do it tactfully, but don't be shy about that kind of networking.
Basically just ask to talk about the firm and their work? That's what I've heard. I'm very afraid that might run into bad territory, but I want to try.

kaiser

Gold

Post by kaiser » Tue Aug 18, 2015 5:43 pm

patfeeney wrote: