When To Tell Firm About Second Clerkship/Clerkship Gap Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

When To Tell Firm About Second Clerkship/Clerkship Gap

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:26 pm

Hey, everyone. First, by way of background, I am a recent graduate of a T-14 and a current CoA clerk. I was a 2L SA at a big firm and received an offer to return. Two weeks before my scheduled return, however, I was offered my present clerkship on the CoA in my home state. I started in March of this year. I accepted on the spot, told my firm, and they were fine with it. Since then, I accepted an offer for a district court clerkship in my home district, always part of my plan.

Given the fixed aspects of my schedule, this is what my timeline looks like

March 2019 (Begin CoA Clerkship)
January 2020 (End CoA Clerkship)

August 2020 (Begin D. Ct. Clerkship)
August 2021 (End D. Ct. Clerkship)

A few questions:

First, although the original clerkship was to run for 10 months from March 2019 to January 2020, my judge has suggested that he would allow me to extend the clerkship up to August 2020, the date that I start my D. Ct. clerkship, but he said he is perfectly fine finding someone to replace me in January as originally planned, and his instinct is to have more clerks rather than fewer.