CCN Clerkship Question Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
ClerkshipQ1987

New

CCN Clerkship Question

Post by ClerkshipQ1987 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:11 pm

I graduated from NYU/CLS two years ago and have found the clerkship office kind of unhelpful. I was really hoping that TLS could give me some insight.

I finished with so-so grades (around a 3.45) and was not on law review. I was the Executive Editor of a secondary journal, interned at the SDNY USAO, served on the executive board of a public interest student org (if that matters), and worked as an RA to a fairly prominent professor. My letters should be pretty good: one from the professor I worked for; one from a Fed Courts professor I wrote the model answer for; and the last from a visiting professor I had my 1L year (got an A) and who I helped with his study of poverty/criminal justice reform. (I grew up below the poverty line in upstate NY and I expect this professor will reference that if it benefits me at all.) Doubt it matters but Ivy undergrad, with three years at a housing rights org in Buffalo before law school.

At a V20 firm in NYC doing litigation now, but really hope to transition to gov't work one day.

I understand that SDNY/EDNY are out, but do I have any shot at a district court clerkship in a large city? Or a Circuit clerkship virtually anywhere in the country?

AUSAorBust

New

Re: CCN Clerkship Question

Post by AUSAorBust » Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:54 am