Considering a Third Clerkship Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Considering a Third Clerkship

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:54 pm

I'm trying to decide whether to apply for 2020-2021 circuit court clerkships.

I graduated from HYS with slightly below median grades. I'm currently clerking for a U.S. magistrate judge and will be clerking for a U.S. district court judge in flyover territory in 2019-2020. After clerking, my immediate goal is DOJ Honors and my long-term goals are to work for a national civil rights organization and/or do appellate litigation in some capacity. Do you think that it would be worth applying for a third COA clerkship?

LBJ's Hair

Silver

Re: Considering a Third Clerkship

Post by LBJ's Hair » Tue Feb 05, 2019 7:49 pm

ideally you wouldn't do the magistrate clerkship at all, would instead do 1 district, 1 appellate.

it's hurting your resume, frankly: snobs are gonna wonder why you took the magistrate clerkship ("did this guy graduate at the absolute bottom of his class?"), and employers aren't gonna like that you clerked for three years, which, as you sense, is weird, barring exceptional circumstances (ie, you're clerking for a feeder and gunning for SCOTUS).