Clerkship Chances -- Median Grades @ T10 Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
exitdoesnotexist

New

Clerkship Chances -- Median Grades @ T10

Post by exitdoesnotexist » Sat Oct 13, 2018 3:31 am

Hi Everyone,

As the title states, I have median grades at a T10. I'm on law review and ed board for a secondary journal. I'm also a first generation student, first generation citizen, and a URM (MA). I'm planning to work public interest or at PD's office after law school and my resume screams that. I also have a full scholarship, I don't know if anyone would care, but it has come up in interviews before. I'm a 2L.

I'm open to going to anywhere for a district clerkship. I'm fairly sure it would be a waste of my time to apply for COA clerkships, but please me let me know if I'm wrong.

I did a year of service where I had projects in various parts of the country that are much less competitive clerkship wise and am hoping that might allow me to make a connection with some of those judges. Would like to hear people's opinions on whether a few months in a location doing a service project could be considered a meaningful tie?

Any perspective on strategy or chances is greatly appreciated. Part of my issue is I don't know how many eggs I want to place in the clerkship basket knowing that I could use that time/energy to apply for fellowships/post grad jobs.

Thanks in advance.

TexasENG

Silver

Re: Clerkship Chances -- Median Grades @ T10