Shot at appellate clerkship Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Shot at appellate clerkship

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:55 am

I'm looking for those with personal knowledge of federal appellate clerkship hiring, preferably in fly over circuits, to tell me whether I am a strong enough candidate to make applying worth it.

I graduated from UT in 2015 with honors, and near the top 10% but not quite there. My gpa was a 3.79. I was an editor on a non-law-review journal and received a highest grade award.

Before attending UT, I started at a ttt school where I ranked in the top 6% of the class.

After law school, i clerked for a federal district judge for a year. I now work in a smaller law firm doing mostly insurance defense. Before that I worked in another small firm doing municipal defense litigation. I garnered a lot of federal court experience in this latter position.

Thanks in advance.

BlackAndOrange84

Bronze

Re: Shot at appellate clerkship

Post by BlackAndOrange84 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:38 am