Timeline for Seeking AUSA Position Post Clerkship Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
coramnonjudice

New

Timeline for Seeking AUSA Position Post Clerkship

Post by coramnonjudice » Tue Apr 03, 2018 1:55 pm

I am going to start a federal clerkship in August this year, finishing up in late July 2019. I’ve got 4 years of experience as a BigLaw associate prior to that. State school, law review, top 25% of class. Seeking an AUSA position in flyover country. Curious about what kind of timeline I should be looking at as far as when to apply bc I’ve heard the process could take up to a year! TIA

Rowinguy2009

Bronze

Re: Timeline for Seeking AUSA Position Post Clerkship

Post by Rowinguy2009 » Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:18 pm

I was in a similar boat - did a midcareer clerkship and targeted fed positions (including AUSA) for after.

The honest, unhelpful answer is "it depends." Timelines can vary quite a bit among different federal offices. I basically applied for fed jobs throughout the entirety of my clerkship. Some of them filled up within a month or so, meaning they were filled far before my clerkship ended, some were sending me notices that they had just filled the position more than a year after I originally applied.