Too old to use as writing sample? Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Too old to use as writing sample?

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:35 pm

I'm a 2014 grad looking to apply for a one year clerkship. It's a federal district court clerkship with very, very specific requirements. While I meet the requirements, I don't have a long enough writing sample to submit from my job. In fact, the only writing sample I have in mind might have so much confidential information in it I'm not sure I could use it. Does anyone have any information on confidential firm memos and clerkships? Can these be used without redaction? What concerns me is that there's so much identifying info in the memo that I can't simply redact the client's name without leaving behind many other identifying details.

My other idea was to use a law school memo. As a 3L, I wrote a memo for a seminar taught by a federal judge and got a 3.9 on it. The subject matter is irrelevant to the clerkship. Is the memo too old to use as a writing sample?

Anonymous User

Re: Too old to use as writing sample?

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Feb 11, 2018 4:04 pm

My firm let me turn a confidential memo on a procedural issue into a brief, but I had to completely invent new facts. So an ADA suit involving a hotel changed into a EEOC suit involving a hospital (for example) but most of my legal work was preserved.