Bankruptcy Clerkship in DE/SDNY Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Frutsie

New

Bankruptcy Clerkship in DE/SDNY

Post by Frutsie » Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:25 pm

Hi all,

I have an interview with a bankruptcy Judge in DE/SDNY. My goal is to eventually work in corporate restructuring. I have some good bankruptcy experience as it stands now. However, I went to a mediocre school and had mediocre grades (top 1/2). Would a clerkship in DE/SDNY enable me to make the jump to NY restructuring V100? Does anyone have any information on how good a bankruptcy clerkship from DE/SDNY really is. Is it equivalent to a flyover district clerkship?

Anonymous User

Re: Bankruptcy Clerkship in DE/SDNY

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:15 am

Former SDNY/DE BK clerk here. Yes, a SDNY/DE BK clerkship would let you land a job at a top restructuring group. I know of several SDNY/DE BK clerks (myself included) that landed at firms that they had no chance of landing at before the clerkship. Hard to compare it to flyover district court clerkship.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:38 pm

Anonymous User wrote:Former SDNY/DE BK clerk here. Yes, a SDNY/DE BK clerkship would let you land a job at a top restructuring group. I know of several SDNY/DE BK clerks (myself included) that landed at firms that they had no chance of landing at before the clerkship. Hard to compare it to flyover district court clerkship.