condescending fellow clerks Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

condescending fellow clerks

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:28 am

Hello all,

I am currently doing a clerkship. There are several clerks in my courthouse. A couple are HYS (or whatever the acronym is) and I felt that they're incredibly condescending to me. I graduated at a high ranking at my T1 school and fortunately got a clerkship (which was always my goal). I was afraid it was just me being paranoid (imposter syndrome), but my co-clerk brought up how condescending they were to me. How do I respond? Should I speak up? Should I just not deal with it and play the long game? Let them realize it.

My original plan was just to not engage. but my co-clerk said something that got me thinking.

This is also a warning to all of you to keep it humble and check yourself. Don't be a jerk.

A. Nony Mouse

Diamond

Re: condescending fellow clerks

Post by A. Nony Mouse » Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:34 am

Are they your co-clerks or just other clerks in the same courthouse? If the latter, I would just ignore them - if they're that obviously condescending that your co-clerk commented, they're only making themselves look bad. Do good work and let them look like snobs.

Rowinguy2009

Bronze

Post by Rowinguy2009 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:43 am

I'm sorry you're dealing with this - it's unfortunate and it sucks.