Dilemma - Please Help Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Dilemma - Please Help

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:59 am

I am a recent T6 grad working at a V10 hoping to clerk in order to change markets and transition to a lit boutique. I've had a couple of 2018 term interviews in competitive districts (SDNY, EDNY, NDCal, CDCal) but failed to get an offer. Since I've pretty much missed the boat for 2018, my goal now is to secure a D.Ct. clerkship for 2019 in one of the districts named above.

A magistrate judge in one of the districts above, but not the district I'd ultimately like to end up in, recently invited me for an interview for 2018. I'm wondering if the best way to position myself for a 2019 clerkship would be clerking for the magistrate for a year or working for another year at my firm and hoping 2019 works out. I realize this may come down to the specific magistrate, but assume they are well respected. I realize the financial hit I would take from two clerkships but firm life sucks so I don't mind taking the financial hit because my costs are low.

Should I accept the interview and try use the magistrate clerkship to obtain a 2019 D.Ct. clerkship or keep working and hope for the best in 2019?

arklaw13

Gold

Re: Dilemma - Please Help

Post by arklaw13 » Wed Aug 23, 2017 12:09 pm