Will judge definitely ask for transcript when applying for a clerkship? Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Will judge definitely ask for transcript when applying for a clerkship?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jun 22, 2017 2:36 pm

Simply put, I have 6 years of paralegal experience in civil litigation in a very small state, including 3 years prior to law school and clerking during fall, winter, spring, and summer breaks. I go to a top 50 Above the Law ranked school.

I failed a class and have been granted readmission to my school after being academically dismissed.

I know that despite this failure on my record, I have more real-world and practical experience than nearly any applicant. I also am undoubtedly more passionate about civil litigation and our state's rules of court more than any random law school applicant. Also, many of the judges I would be applying to know my employer of 6 years.

The position is for law clerk for a state trial court.