Seeking application advice Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Seeking application advice

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Jun 09, 2017 3:07 am

Hi all, I am a recent graduate seeking advice on the relationship aspects of clerkship application. Specifically, whether a judge would take slight if I were to apply to other judges on his court.

Originally, I have a clerkship lined up for 2017-18 before another clerkship for 2018-19 in dc. However, things changed and I will no longer be clerking for the judge in the 17-18 cycle. Instead of clerking for his successor, I chose to join a firm first before starting my second clerkship. I still very much want to clerk for the judge from the unfulfilled 2017-18 clerkship. The judge told me that even though he could not guarantee anything, I should wait for him to get things under order. I respect the judge immensely, we come from the same area and have strong rapport. It would be a dream-come-true if I were to get an offer. However, given that there are no guarantees, I am debating whether to apply to other judges on his current court as well. The clerkship office advises all students applying to that court to apply to all the judges, but that is a very small number of people in close, frequent contact. I am worried that my judge will be take slight if he found out that I have applied to the other judges and that that will lower my chance of getting a clerkship with him.

BlackAndOrange84