Advice/Hints before beggining Clerkship Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
JDEsq2017

New

Advice/Hints before beggining Clerkship

Post by JDEsq2017 » Thu May 11, 2017 2:33 pm

Hello,

In a couple weeks I will begin a year long clerkship at a state court in the Northeast. Frankly, I am shocked I go the job (not on law review). Is there any advice any former clerks could give me to help me and make this new experience easier to adjust to. I am an ok writer but pretty comfortable with my research skills.

Thanks again.

Nosso

New

Re: Advice/Hints before beggining Clerkship

Post by Nosso » Thu May 11, 2017 2:48 pm

Focus on doing good work and be nice to everyone from the judge down to the people scrubbing toilets. Develop reputation for being someone that is good to work with. That's honestly better in some cases than cranking out perfect work product. Speaking of work product though, do make sure you really turn in your best work for the first few assignments. Obviously, you want to do a good job every time, but early on, it's good to signal to your judge that you can be trusted with important work.

Forget the law review BS. If you were hired, it means your judge thinks you can do the job. Good luck!

mjb447

Silver

Post by mjb447 » Thu May 11, 2017 3:45 pm