Federal Clerkships for International JDs Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
JD2018

New

Federal Clerkships for International JDs

Post by JD2018 » Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:08 am

Hi all,

I am a Canadian student at a T10 school and really want to do a federal appellate clerkship a year out of law school. I know I won't get paid, so I can't do it right after law school because I'll be using my firm job to save up. I was wondering if anyone has done this before? And if so, what kind of VISA they used to do it? Can you use a TN VISA or apply for a J1? Any leads would be really helpful!

FascinatedWanderer

Bronze

Re: Federal Clerkships for International JDs

Post by FascinatedWanderer » Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:14 am

Try clerking in Puerto Rico, Hawaii, or Alaska. You can get paid there. Morgan Christen would be an awesome judge to clerk for.

Auxilio

Silver

Post by Auxilio » Fri Mar 31, 2017 5:39 pm

Also Candian, TN visa (as it currently stand at least) will work, I cannot imagine they would do a H1-B though.

As mentioned above Alaska/Hawaii can pay you, Christen looks like an amazing judge, I know Kleinfeld is open to hiring internationals and frequently does (probably because not a lot of top non-internationals want to go to fairbanks), don't know much about Clifton.