Should I drop out? Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
southernlawstudent12

New

Should I drop out?

Post by southernlawstudent12 » Mon Oct 08, 2018 7:59 pm

An introduction to OP

Hi fellow TLS'ers, I am a 2L law student at a strong regional state school in the T30. I am above median (top 40%) with Law Review. I have had 18 interviews (mixture of big law, mid-law, big four firms) but have only received 3 callbacks with no resulting offers. I also struck out at the advocacy team try-outs. I performed well my first semester reaching the top 20% but took a hit second semester with flat B's outside of legal writing. (*Self-diagnosis* Feeling pressure to improve to a higher place in the class, I tried to modify my exam strategy which led to me not taking as many practice tests and not memorizing the law well with an over-reliance on my outlines) The first semester success, along with my social network, allowed me to secure a quality paid 1L summer associate position in my small city hometown and, fortunately, this firm has offered me an opportunity to return this upcoming summer. Regarding my costs, I am paying half of in-state tuition due to a scholarship and my parents are covering my living expenses, so I will likely only graduate with $15K or less worth of debt if I use the funds from summer employment to cover my tuition money (perhaps with less if I can secure another job for the second half of my 2L summer).