UCC Question: Risk of Loss and Destruction of Goods Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
throwaway1222

New

UCC Question: Risk of Loss and Destruction of Goods

Post by throwaway1222 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:09 pm

Hi all,

Im studying for the bar and I am hoping someone could clarify the difference and contradiction I see between UCC 2 613 --(https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-613) and UCC 2 509 (https://www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-509).

I am confused, because 2-613 seems to say that if the risk of loss has not passed to the buyer yet, then even just partial damage will void the K unless the buyer takes the K at a reduced price. But, then how does this not make 2-509 moot? 2-509 described when the seller BEARS the RISK OF LOSS, which, as I understand it, obviously includes damages to the goods.

To simplify: I read 613 as saying that seller is always off the hook if the goods are damaged, but 509 as saying seller will bear the risk of loss in certain situations. How can both these things be true? I obviously am sure I am reading something wrong, but cant see it.

Thanks all.

4LTsPointingNorth

Bronze

Re: UCC Question: Risk of Loss and Destruction of Goods

Post by 4LTsPointingNorth » Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:57 pm

2-509 describes when the risk of loss passes from seller to buyer in the absence of breach by either party.

2-613 describes what happens if there's a casualty to identified goods without fault of either party before the risk of loss has passed from the seller to the buyer.

Can you restate where you're seeing the conflict between the two? Maybe with a brief hypo? I'm not sure I see it

throwaway1222

New

Post by throwaway1222 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:45 pm

4LTsPointingNorth wrote:2-509 describes when the risk of loss passes from seller to buyer in the absence of breach by either party.