Sending my paper to be published in Law Reviews Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
peapodthesquirrel

New

Sending my paper to be published in Law Reviews

Post by peapodthesquirrel » Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:02 am

Hi all!

I'm a law student looking to publish my paper in law reviews. I was wondering if anyone had any advice for this process. Are there any journals in particular where other students have successfully placed papers? Are there any journals that don't automatically discount you because you're a student? What have been your experiences?

Do any current law review/specialty journal editors have any advice/suggestions?

OneShot2009

New

Re: Sending my paper to be published in Law Reviews

Post by OneShot2009 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:49 pm

I submitted my article broadly through ExpressO. The site was great about letting you know if a journal did not publish student works. You pay per submission. You can avoid paying if you choose to submit through email directly to the email, but it was easier to go through ExpressO and keep track using that platform.

I submitted to about 20 journals. I received and accepted 1 offer. My advice would be to target the general journals, but also make sure to target smaller niche journals that are relevant to your topic. Good luck!

geedubslaw222

New

Post by geedubslaw222 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:54 pm

OneShot2009 wrote:I submitted my article broadly through ExpressO. The site was great about letting you know if a journal did not publish student works. You pay per submission. You can avoid paying if you choose to submit through email directly to the email, but it was easier to go through ExpressO and keep track using that platform.