Should I re-apply to another law school Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
Anna Mate

New

Should I re-apply to another law school

Post by Anna Mate » Sun May 28, 2017 1:06 am

I am an raising 2L at a Top20 law school, my first semester's GPA was 3.7. But my second semester was a disaster. Due to illness, I missed a lot of classes, and was hospitalized just before my finals, so my second semester's GPA was only 3.1. This is a huge disappointment for me, I know I could do better without the illness. So I am thinking about drop out and reapply to another law school, but not sure if it is a stupid idea.

btw I am an international student, the local market for my law school is gloom and with my current GPA, there is no hope to find a job.

sanzgo

New

Re: Should I re-apply to another law school

Post by sanzgo » Sun May 28, 2017 2:53 am

please correct me if i'm wrong,

but it is my understanding that once you get an official grade from a law school, those stay in your record forever. so you'll probably have trouble when it comes to reapplying to a t-14 since the adcoms will see your grades from the current school. no idea how it works for oci at the new school though (assuming you're even able to get into a different school).

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Sun May 28, 2017 6:42 am

Yeah, once you have reported grades, it becomes a lot harder to drop out and start over. I've heard (indirectly) about people being able to drop out and enroll somewhere else due to emergency situations, but your emergency cropped up during the semester and was probably something you should have approached academic services about while it was ongoing, not after grades came out.

grades??

Silver

Post by grades?? » Sun May 28, 2017 8:42 am