How to handle law school dismissal? Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
dna8918

New

How to handle law school dismissal?

Post by dna8918 » Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:16 am

I am a second year law student at Florida Coastal School of Law. I have gotten dismissed after completing 3 semesters at law school. I have recently been diagnosed with a learning disability after consultation with my academic success counselors because I have done well in legal writing classes and anywhere else where time was not an issue. However, on timed exams, I had problem finishing exams. I could not identify earlier that why I was doing bad in substantive law classes. I tried to petition for reinstatement based on my learning disability but got denied. Any suggestions? do I think I should try getting into another school? I don't think if other law schools accept you unless you have a 505 letter? I am not even sure if 505 letter is any good too. Please advise. Thanks!

MTal

Silver

Re: How to handle law school dismissal?

Post by MTal » Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:32 am

How did you manage to get a reasonable LSAT despite your learning disability?

playhero

New

Post by playhero » Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:12 am

What learning disability and how was it identified? "I don't do well on timed exams" in and of itself is not a learning disability and if that was the sole basses of identification no school is going to take you seriously.

Silver

Post by 06072010 » Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:31 am

Have you seen a qualified mental health person who has diagnosed you? Did they give you any sort of paperwork that you can show the school? Unless there is something going on that you're being evasive about, I don't know why they would deny you reinstatement.

dna8918

New

Post by dna8918 » Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:00 am