Start working ahead of time? Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
vincere

New

Start working ahead of time?

Post by vincere » Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:15 am

I graduated this past winter and am working part time on some research gigs....is there anything i can do to prepare for law school in the next 9 months?

Any help greatly appreciated

ben1185

New

Re: Start working ahead of time?

Post by ben1185 » Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:28 am

Lots of threads on this... some say no, some say yes. Me, I would say read the general books about what to expect at law school. Don't read anything about the actual classes, it won't help much if at all. For example, don't read the CivPro E&E. Do know what a Plaintiff, Defendant, and cause of action are and the difference between civil and criminal. :)

Getting to Maybe
Law School Confidential
Scott Turow's (sp) 1L (Very funny book... law school isn't this bad anymore)
A Civil Action (Great book)
Buffalo Creek Disaster
Possibly books about legal writing (particularly Garner's stuff)
Law 101 is a very basic bare-bones cover of the law... it's not bad for a quick skim, but you probably know most of what's in there
The Bramble Bush (I found this not very useful)
... There's others
Even John Grisham is fun and provides some information on basic framework of how some things work. (Also has things that are not realistic though)

Just remember, only read it if it's fun and enjoyable. Don't start studying, outlining, memorizing, etc... Law school doesn't require it.

Diamond

Post by 20160810 » Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:37 am