Possibility of T3 transferring to NYU/Columbia/Fordham? Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
absilv123

New

Possibility of T3 transferring to NYU/Columbia/Fordham?

Post by absilv123 » Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:24 pm

Hey all...I'm new to TLS (as a member), and I have some important decisions to make after getting my 1st semester grades back........

So I just finished my 1st semester at NYLS and to my complete (but very pleasant) surprise I managed to pull off straight A's across the board. I really didn't do too well on the LSAT (only 153), but had a 3.5 GPA in undergrad (Univ of Rhode Island). I am just not a good standardized test taker and knew I wasn't going to kill the LSAT, but I knew I can kill it in actual class, despite people telling me if I can't do well on the LSAT, I won't do well in law school (f*** them lol).

That being said.....what do you guys out there think about the idea of transferring next year (obviously my 2nd semester grades will matter too, but assuming I do very well)? What do you think my chances are at NYU or Columbia? I would consider Fordham or Brooklyn, but I feel like I'd still need to be up there in my class ranking at either of those schools (especially Brooklyn) to be competitive. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm under the impression that just graduating from NYU or Columbia (no matter what your class rank is) puts you in terrific shape in terms of employment prospects, as opposed to graduating top of your class from NYLS (I want to stay in NYC for school/work).

Also............