IP Lit to Tech Trans? (mid level) Forum

(Deciding to leave, same firm different office, Reference requests)
Anonymous User

IP Lit to Tech Trans? (mid level)

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:38 pm

I am a 2014 grad who went from patent pros at a small firm to patent lit at a mid sized firm (decently well known among biglaw, considered peer in terms of pay and rep). I am thinking of making the jump to tech transactions. Can anyone who's done this tell me what their experience was like? Any deductions in class year? Do you fear automation will take your job away? Will switching groups (and firms) as a midlevel destroy partnership odds?

Anonymous User

Re: IP Lit to Tech Trans? (mid level)

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Sep 19, 2019 3:56 am

A few people at my firm made the lateral move from our IP Prosecution group (where they had some exposure to litigation/IPRs/deals) to a tech transaction group at a "peer" V20 firm. I think we had three people go to the same firm within about a 6-month window. I think they were a few years out of school at the time.

They had some "extra" seniority because they had come up as patent agents and worked for the firm during law school (they came in as second or third year associates after graduating). They had to give up that seniority, but they were allowed to keep their class year when they transferred (i.e., if they graduated in 2015, they were treated like other 2015 graduates). My feeling is that without the exposure to deal work as part of the prosecution group, they would have been dinged a year or two. It was still a pay-cut, but they wanted to do transaction work full-time and weren't going to have the option at the old firm.