Please Help. How do I get a job with an NY license while living in Northern Virginia with my family? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Ohnt

New

Please Help. How do I get a job with an NY license while living in Northern Virginia with my family?

Post by Ohnt » Sat Jun 15, 2019 1:20 am

Urgent help needed please! I’m counting on you guys.

Hi everyone!

I live in Northern Virginia. I’m a foreign-educated attorney as well as New York barred. I’m unfortunately unable to waive in to any other state within the next 5/6 years but I would need a job to survive until then :).
I can’t waive into:
-Virginia because I need a JD (I already have an LLB).
-DC because I need to do an LLM before I would have that option (I would like to work for a few years before I pursue an LLM).
I have 3 babies and would love to be able to support them and to save some money while I plan to do the llm.

What are my best options? Any one who can give me some perspectives, please?

Thank you all so much in advance.

DCESQ

New

Re: Please Help. How do I get a job with an NY license while living in Northern Virginia with my family?

Post by DCESQ » Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:48 pm

You can work for the federal government as long as you’re barred in any state or Puerto Rico. I would start there. Some in-house jobs don’t care where you’re barred, but I don’t think that is the norm. Good luck!

Lancair

New

Re: Please Help. How do I get a job with an NY license while living in Northern Virginia with my family?