Lateral Job Hunt - Constant Rejection Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Lateral Job Hunt - Constant Rejection

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Feb 01, 2019 6:17 am

I am a mid level attorney at a well known firm that is not a big law firm. I have been trying to go back to big law and have been failing miserably. A lot of my former colleagues have been able to lateral easily and it maybe takes them a month to make a move when they start the search. Granted most did not come from a big firm.

Is the lateral job hunt just super shitty and a grind. I have had a number of call backs and I always seem to be rejected or ghosted even after the interviews seem to go well.

Any advice on how to improve interviewing? Is the lateral job hunt just incredibly difficult? If you have left big law does it just make it hard to go back?

Any experiences with how long this process can take. I have been looking for over a year.

Anonymous User

Re: Lateral Job Hunt - Constant Rejection

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:34 am

I’m currently almost a year into my search. I think corporate is busy right now, but my area is not as busy. I also used a recruiter, so I have a $70k fee attached to me, which makes things a bit more difficult.