School me to the basics of working with a recruiter Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

School me to the basics of working with a recruiter

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Dec 16, 2018 2:10 pm

I'm a c/o 2016 graduate who just finished my first year at a regional office of a V10 after a year-long district court clerkship, meaning I'm a third-year associate come January. I've recently decided that I want to leave for a lit/trial boutique, whether in my current market (think Houston, Charlotte, Dallas, etc.) or home market in the south. I'd like to start putting in applications now with the hopes of making the transition sooner rather than later. I'm at a bit of a loss regarding how to go about making this move. A few questions:

1) Assuming no connections at the firms I know I want to target, is it best to just submit my application directly (if so, to whom?) or work with a recruiter? Some of these boutiques have less than 10 lawyers, if that matters.

2) About recruiters: How do you find a good one? How do you know they're good? What is the process like for retaining a recruiter (can you work only with them, and not apply solo? If so, for how long usually?) Can you sign on with different recruiters for different markets at the same time? What exactly do they do for you?

3) What else should I know?

Anonymous User

Re: School me to the basics of working with a recruiter

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Dec 17, 2018 7:46 pm