Should I open my own firm? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Should I open my own firm?

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:03 pm

Hey all- So I was laid off several weeks ago and I have been trying to aggressively network/ interview. I am in real estate but I do not seem to have the necessary experience for some of these positions. I have around 4-5 years of experience and some firms are looking for 10 years. So after each interview usually I am met with the inevitable response of thanks for coming in but we are looking for someone with more experience.

At this point I have been thinking of opening my own firm. I have a close relative in big law who is willing to start referring me business and assist with some of the costs at the beginning. What do you all think? On the one hand it seems very daunting to me to open my own firm; however, on the other hand it could be a rewarding experience and I could learn a lot.

I honestly do not even know where to begin if I were to open my own firm. If you have any reading material with regard to opening a new law office please feel free to copy and paste below.

If you are a successful solo out there I would like to hear your thoughts. But all of your opinions are welcome.

Thank you.

Anonymous User

Re: Should I open my own firm?

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:13 pm

Are you willing to relocate? I think my firm is hiring mid level real estate associates.

tyroneslothrop1

Bronze