Use recruiter as post-clerkship lateral for multiple mkts? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
bella07

New

Use recruiter as post-clerkship lateral for multiple mkts?

Post by bella07 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:22 pm

I'm a 2014 T20 grad grad with 2+ years of fed clerking (first with senior DJ and, now, MJ). Before that I was at a 3-4 lawyer general practice firm in a secondary market (where I went to lawschool, stuck around for SO job) and was let go when it imploded. Right now I'm finishing my clerkship in Atlanta (I can waive into GA bar next year) but have family in DC and SO would prefer us living there. I had median grades, prior consulting WE, and my legal background is very PI/govt oriented but then when 2016 happened those dreams of going to DC and working for a fed agency were crushed and I took this 2nd clerkship to give myself time to adjust. So, yea, my resume is all over the place but mostly litigation, investigations and employment law.
Anyway, I've decided I want to be in Atlanta or DC at a large and stable firm making at least $180k the first year so I can pay off my loans. I'm not sure about partner track, given general attrition rates, but I don't need time off for kids or anything. My main thing is to be at a place that isn't toxic and over-leveraged (since I've got some PTSD from my first experience). I