How can I break into the DC market? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How can I break into the DC market?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:06 pm

I am a 2016 graduate of a T20 (think WUSTL, Vandy, etc.) and have been doing insurance defense/commercial litigation in a mid-sized Southern city since graduating and passing the bar here. I graduated in the bottom half of my class and initially was pretty happy with where I ended up in terms of my employment considering. My firm is not well known or prestigious by any means, but it does have a few locations in the region. My hours requirement is low, I rarely ever work evenings or weekends, and the pay (~$80k + bonus) is okay considering the COL here. Also, I'm lucky enough to not have any loans thanks to a full scholarship and some help from family.

However, I recently have passed the two-year mark at my current job and am feeling like I really need a change. Most of my cases are car wrecks (we defend commercial carriers), and they all seem the same after a while. All of the cases settle pretty quickly. There is no complex thought that goes into virtually anything I do. I've worked on some more interesting cases, but those are few and far between. Still, I have gotten some good hands-on experience with arguing motions, taking depositions, etc.