Finding a job from abroad? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Finding a job from abroad?

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:14 am

Hello. I am a NY licensed attorney (foreigner) who doesn't have experience working the States. I have been working for about two years now at a large local firm in Asia consulting on US law/corporate work (big law firm with some int'l name recognition apparently). I recently married my husband and we are planning to relocate to the US (he's from Boston, but we'll prob end up in NY). I have two questions: (i) how does one go about finding a job in the States when you're abroad, and (ii) given my background, what are my chances of landing a legal job in the States? Although I would love a Big Law job, I am being very open to any possibilities so long as it would be enough for us to maintain a living (since we're both relatively early in our careers, not that much savings accumulated). Thank you!

Silver

Re: Finding a job from abroad?

Post by 2013 » Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:48 am

Do you have a US JD or LLM? If you only have an LLM, it may be difficult to land an offer. Biglaw isn’t out of the question, but it’s probably hard. To be completely honest, even US JDs have a difficult time breaking into biglaw in the US after spending time abroad after graduating because the type of work done abroad is very different.