Career prospects in workers’ compensation defense? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Ab3313

New

Career prospects in workers’ compensation defense?

Post by Ab3313 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:00 pm

I could really use some advice from any practicing attorneys on here! I’ve been practicing for just over 3 years. I started my career in medical malpratice and elder abuse defense at a fairly well known and reputable mid-size firm.

While I had plenty of flexibility, the workload was absolutely nuts. I couldn’t handle that or the 200 hour monthly billable. I’m sure some people are perfectly capable of it, but I’m not one of them.

I left the firm after about a year in the hopes of finding a job with just a bit more breathing room. Long story short, I took a med mal/elder abuse position at a small plaintiffs’ firm. To say that it turned out to be even more “over the top” than the defense position would be an understatement. My caseload was massive. I had a minimally useful paralegal, and no real assistance.