Civil to Criminal Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Civil to Criminal

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:11 pm

I saw a post about switching from civil not-for-profit to criminal defense work, but it looks like it was taken down. I'm in the same boat - I graduated in 2015, I'm doing housing work, and I'm interested in switching into a public defender's office. (If I was at LAS, that would be easy I hear, but I'm not.)

My question is, after doing 3 - 5 years of civil work in housing, immigration, or family court, will a public defender ever consider starting you as a new attorney? They obviously can't start you as an experienced attorney. Any insight would be appreciated, and if anyone has made the switch, I'd love to know.

criminaltheory

Bronze

Re: Civil to Criminal

Post by criminaltheory » Wed Sep 19, 2018 12:00 am

You may get some service credit, but specifics will depend on the office. They'll start you in misdemeanors, or wherever they stick the first years.

Bla Bla Bla Blah

Bronze

Post by Bla Bla Bla Blah » Wed Sep 19, 2018 2:01 am