2017 T-30 Grad With Awful Grades Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

2017 T-30 Grad With Awful Grades

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Jul 20, 2018 6:35 pm

I graduated from a t-30 law school with an abysmal 2.9.I made the mistake of starting law school without addressing some academic obstacles, B minused the hell out of 1L year, and had some major hiccups all the way into 3L year. To add insult to injury, I failed the bar. Twice. Since graduation, I've been taking the odd doc review job here and there that doesn't require bar passage. As you can imagine, I feel like I'm at the bottom of the barrel, and am pretty depressed about my future. I want to turn things around, but don't know how. I've been applying for Law Clerk positions and plan on volunteering once I do pass the bar with some legal non-profits. I'm also looking into doing some legal research. Right now, the only thing that I have going for me is that I don't have any debt, and that I am in the same city in which my law school is a powerhouse. My biggest fear is winding up in a permanent doc review type job doing menial legal work for the rest of my life.Does anyone have any advice as to:

1)What I should be doing now?
2)Whether or not the relatively good reputation of my school in the city I currently live in will slightly make up for such an awful GPA?
3)Whether or not my GPA has permanently closed doors for certain jobs (by no means BigLaw, or even higher paying Mid Law) jobs in the future if I choose to lateral up?

floatie