Need help for callback Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Need help for callback

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:25 pm

I received a callback invitation from a midsize firm this morning, and I'm terribly in need of tips on a few things, and please help me.
1. Honestly, as a late immigrant from Asia, I'm not good at being conversational due to my limited vocabulary, so can somebody give me a few examples of how to open and end a conversation professionally?
2. If I'm introduced to a supporting staff, what else can I say besides "it's very nice to meet you"?
3. For the lunch, what kind of food am I supposed to order and usually what kind of topics should I bring up?

I understand some, if not all, of these questions may be self-evident for you native speakers, but I've not been exposed enough to the daily settings with Americans, so please understand if these questions appear to be trivial.
Thanks in advance for your help.

BrainsyK

Bronze

Re: Need help for callback

Post by BrainsyK » Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:37 pm

Anonymous User wrote:I received a callback invitation from a midsize firm this morning, and I'm terribly in need of tips on a few things, and please help me.
1. Honestly, as a late immigrant from Asia, I'm not good at being conversational due to my limited vocabulary, so can somebody give me a few examples of how to open and end a conversation professionally?
2. If I'm introduced to a supporting staff, what else can I say besides "it's very nice to meet you"?