Delay biglaw start date by a year Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Delay biglaw start date by a year

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:24 pm

Hi all,

I am in a bit of a strange situation. I am a recent graduate and I am expected to start working for a biglaw firm in NYC (V100) in October.

I am an international student, and the government of my home country has paid all my law school tuition. I am obligated to go back and work for them after I take the bar. If I don't, I'll have to pay them back all the monies they paid.

I was planning to stay and work in the U.S. However, I did not get my H1B visa through the lottery this year, and my firm will apply for me again next year in April. If I don't get my visa then, they likely would let me go (it's possible that they'd send me to one of their offices abroad, but it is unclear at this point). If they do let me go, I'll be fu**ed because I'll be out of a job and I'll also have to pay the government back.

What I want to do is to delay my start date for a year so I could go back home and work for the government till I know my visa situation next year. How do I go about asking my firm that I want to delay my start date by a year? Should I tell them about my financial obligation to my home country's government? I haven't told them about it, because if I had gotten my visa this year, I would have just stayed without any issue.

Thanks

Anonymous User

Re: Delay biglaw start date by a year