Transfer to UCLA or Boalt for better LA Big Law chances? (through OCI) Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
uclahopeful1313

New

Transfer to UCLA or Boalt for better LA Big Law chances? (through OCI)

Post by uclahopeful1313 » Mon Jun 18, 2018 6:49 pm

Hey!

I am a transfer student who has so far gotten into UCLA and I seem to have a fair shot at UCB as well.

I have a 3.8 from Hastings. My goal is Big Law in LA, see how I like it, and maybe if I hate it try to go in house somewhere, or if I love it, to stay there and hopefully eventually make partner.

I have heard transfers do well at UCLA in OCI. I would really rather go to UCLA but I do not know if I would be shooting myself in the foot down the road turning down Boalt. Any thoughts? How are firms going to view a 3.8 from Hastings during OCI? I know a 3.8 from UCLA would probably look great... but I'm not sure how transfer stuff will factor in. Also I will not have the opportunity to join Law Review until the fall for UCLA so I don't think that would be on my resume for OCI.

I'm definitely a people-person and am pretty social, so I am not too worried about being likable/charismatic during interviews, but I am worried about my stats while entering a competitive Big Law market! I've heard LA can be tough.

I've also applied to GULC, NYU, and Cornell (and HYS as a reach lol) but am unsure of my chances to get in there/am not sure if NYU/Cornell are worth the move across the country if my goal is LA.