My supervising Partner told me I suck Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Raiden

Bronze

My supervising Partner told me I suck

Post by Raiden » Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:05 pm

I work at a tightly knit 30 some Lawyer Law Firm. We have a ton of work and this is my first year at the firm. I am doing litigation, and I really don't have any guidance because my supervising partner is always so busy. Recently, he told me that he thinks I don't care about the client and that I essentially suck as a lawyer. This really has me down. I am trying my best but it doesn't seem to be enough. I just don't really know what to do, but then I feel bad that I think I need hand holding when I should be able to figure it out.

I've been pretty stressed that I missed a court hearing, and I have felt so bad about it. My supervising partner has told me that doing something like that is what other partners will find out about, and they all will write me off. Interestingly, my partner has told me that even though I have been sub par I shouldn't expect to be fired because the firm doesn't fire people unless, but instead no one would give me any work. I think I just have been spiraling downward. Instead of thinking I can do it, I feel like I have been thinking that my work is going to suck and this has created a vicious cycle where my work does suck. I don't know. Maybe I just need some guidance from the more seasoned associates here.

lawposeidon

New

Re: My supervising Partner told me I suck