Any types of consistent work for new practice just to pay bills? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
ScurryRay

New

Any types of consistent work for new practice just to pay bills?

Post by ScurryRay » Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:26 pm

I graduated law school in December 2017 as part of an accelerated program with excellent grades and credentials. I'm struggling to find any meaningful work, though. Have been applying since December and have probably submitted 80 applications and have gotten maybe 5 interviews.

I am at the point now where I am considering my last resort/fallback option. Have been researching starting my own practice to try and pull in some minimal income to pay bills while I keep looking for other work.

My question is this - are there any types of work that a new, solo attorney could have a reasonable chance to get early on? I am thinking about stuff like criminal defense appointments (I know the pay is bad), document review, etc. Basically trying to figure out if there are enough types of work that are typically undesirable but which will pay money that I could use to keep myself afloat for a bit. Any other areas where consistent (albeit low paying) work can be found besides criminal defense appointments and document review?

Thanks for the help (as always).

Mobster1983

New

Re: Any types of consistent work for new practice just to pay bills?

Post by Mobster1983 » Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:08 pm